Chief Minister Shri Bhupesh Baghel today paid a humble tribute to the martyrs remembering the martyrs in the incident of Naxalite violence in Jhiram Valley on 25 May 2013 at an event organized at Rajiv Bhawan in the capital Raipur on the occasion of ‘Jhiram Tribute Day’. Ministers, MLAs, many public representatives including the Chief Minister laid flowers on the portrait of the martyrs and paid tribute to the martyrs by holding a two-minute silence in honor of them.

Several senior public representatives and several jawans of security forces, including senior leaders Mr. Nandkumar Patel, Mr. Vidyacharan Shukla, Mr. Mahendra Karma, Mr. Uday Mudaliar and Mr. Yogendra Sharma, were martyred in the Jhiram Valley incident. For the first time in memory of these martyrs, ‘Jhiram Tribute Day’ was organized by the Government of Chhattisgarh, in which tributes were paid to the martyrs of Jhiram as well as many civilians and security personnel who were martyred during the long period of Naxal violence.

On the occasion, Chief Minister Mr. Baghel said that Bastar University will be named after the senior leader of all of us known as Bastar Tiger and late Shri Mahendra Karma, martyr in the Jhiram Valley Naxal violence. The Chief Minister said that memorials in Jagdalpur and Naya Raipur have not been built yet due to the Corona crisis in memory of the martyrs of Jhiram, but it will be built in the future. The Chief Minister also said that we are sad that the culprits of the incident of Jhiram Naxal violence have not yet been punished and the families of the martyrs have not yet got justice but the efforts of the State Government are continuing that the victims should get justice and The guilty get severe punishment.
The Chief Minister said that on 25 May every year in Chhattisgarh, Jhiram Tribute Day will be celebrated to pay tribute to the martyrs of Jhiram. On this day, tributes will be paid to all the government and semi-government offices, including the martyrs of Jhiram, who lost their lives in Naxal violence, the people of the public representatives and security forces. MLA Mr. Mohan Markam also expressed his views on the occasion. He said that the state government is committed to punishing the culprits of the Jhiram incident.

On this occasion, the Speaker of the Assembly Dr. Charan Das Mahant, Agriculture Minister Shri Ravindra Choubey, Home Minister Shri Tamradhwaj Sahu, Health Minister Shri T.S. Singhdev, Cooperative Minister Mr. Premasai Singh Tekam, Food Minister Mr. Amarjit Singh Bhagat,
Women and Child Development Minister Smt. Anila Bhendia, Labor Minister Dr. Shivakumar Dahria, Rajya Sabha MP Smt. Chhaya Verma, along with many MLAs and public representatives were present.