The ruling Trinamool Congress scored an emphatic victory in West Bengal in the face of stiff challenge posed by BJP with the Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee leading the party to its third successive victory in assembly polls.

While the BJP-led NDA retained Assam, the ruling LDF created history by retaining Kerala. DMK is poised to oust AIADMK in Tamil Nadu and in Puducherry, where Congress chief minister V Naryanasamy had resigned earlier this year, NR Congress-led NDA came to power.

The counting was held amid COVID-19 protocols. With a surge in cases in the country, no victory processions were allowed.

In West Bengal, TMC has already won 198 seats and is leading on another 16 out of the total 292 seats for which elections were held. The party is poised to improve its 2016 tally of 2011 seats. However, Mamata Banerjee was defeated in Nandigram by her former ministerial colleague and BJP candidate Suvendu Adhikari.

BJP, which had only three MLAs in the outgoing assembly, has won 48 seats and is leading on eight more. The party has major inroads in the state.

One Independent candidate has also won in West Bengal while Rashtriya Secular Majlis Party is leading on one seat. The Samyukta alliance comprising Congress, Left parties and ISF failed to open its account.

In 126-member Assam assembly, BJP has won 47 seats and is leading on 12. Its alliance partner AGP has won nine seats and UPPL six seats.

In Mahajot alliance, Congress won 21 seats and is leading on eight, AIUDF won ten seats and is leading on six, CPI-M won one seat and BPF won three seats and is leading on one. Independents won one seat and are leading on another.