Suvendu Adhikari has been elected Leader of the Opposition in the West Bengal Legislative Assembly, while former Legislature Party leader Manoj Tigga has been elected Deputy Leader. Suvendu Adhikari defeated Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee from Nandigram seat by 1,956 votes in the assembly elections. The announcement was made on Monday in the presence of central observer Ravi Shankar Prasad, general secretary Bhupendra Yadav, general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya and state BJP president Dilip Ghosh.

In a meeting held at the BJP office on Monday, BJP National Vice President Mukul Roy proposed the name of Suvendu Adhikari. 22 MLAs supported his name. Later Ravi Shankar Prasad said that Suvendu Adhikari is not only the leader of the legislative party, but will also be the leader of the opposition in the assembly. Its constitutional process will be completed.

TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee has suffered another major setback after her defeat in Nandigram seat in West Bengal. His demand for a second count of votes has been rejected after a close fight with his former colleague Suvendu Adhikari. The Election Commission has said that the decision of the Returning Officer is final and can be challenged only in the High Court. Meanwhile, the officer staying in Nandigram has been provided security. The Election Commission has also dismissed allegations of disturbances in the counting of votes by Mamata Banerjee. The Commission has stated that there was a Micro Observer at all counting tables and they have not given any indication of any disturbance in their reports. After all rounds, the RO entered the number of votes all candidates had received and was displayed on the display board, which the counting agents could easily see. No one had expressed any doubt during the entire counting process and the entire process went on without any hindrance. After every round, a copy of the result was being given to all the agents.