BJP's Priyanka Tibriwal to contest from Bhowanipore against CM Mamata Banerjee in bypoll

By Online Desk

BJP leader Priyanka Tibriwal will contest against Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in the upcoming  Bhowanipore bypoll on September 30.

Meanwhile, the Congress  has decided not to field a candidate against Mamata Banerjee.

The TMC chief, who lost to BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram Assembly constituency, will contest the bypoll from the seat vacated by party leader Sovandeb Chattopadhyay. 

CM Mamata has to get elected as an MLA by November 5 to continue as the chife minister on West Bengal. 

Mamata was elected twice in 2011 and 2016 from Bhowanipore, has been campaigning heavily for the crucial bypoll.

(Inputs from Agencies)